Ups and Downs

I can never sleep the night before I travel anywhere. My flight is at 7:30 AM, so I set my alarm for 5:15. It is currently 2 AM…..Do the math and figure that out. It’s not many hours of shut eye. Might as well utilized these insomniac tendencies and write about my day.

Work kind of sucked. I had a lot to do and only a little bit of time to do it. Not cool. I did see Cornell mentioned in another article I was reading for my current project. I’m not going to lie, I freaking love it. Whenever I see those 7 letters in random places (bumper stickers, articles, sweatshirts), my smile becomes a littler wider and I become full of pride. It’s like, hey, I know that place, I love that place, I am that place.

The intern event this week was a half-day at Seabreeze, a local amusement park. Of course I went. I knocked off my go-to never-have-I-ever fact I’ve never been on a rollercoaster. I know, I know so lame but it was true until today. My favorite part about the rides was that I would scream every single time. It was kind of embarrassing when the 10-year-olds around me would laugh at me, but I didn’t let those little fuckers get inside my head. I can’t help what my body does. Although, I did try to suppress my screams. It must have looked really funny to the people next to me. Sorry guys, I’ll remember to contain my exhilaration next time.

The best part of the day was my attire. I was able to wear shorts during the daytime. I didn’t wear any undergarments since I had a bathing suit on. I walked around in flip-flops…the closest thing to barefoot. So liberating.

The freedom couldn’t last forever. I submitted myself back into prison to finish up a presentation I have to give on Monday. I was at work until 8PM. On a Friday. During the summer. Come on. Not exactly my idea of fun, but it turned out to be better than I expected. I finished my work. I could sit in any weird position I wanted. I could hum along to my music. I even got to see one of the men I work with in his bicycle outfit. He was like an exotic species that only comes out in the early evening.

I was pretty hungry when I got home. I ended up making a huge tub of guacamole. Hands down my favorite easy to make dinner. I talked with two of my roommates and another intern until around midnight. I really enjoyed the evening. It probably ranks in my top three nights here. I met an intern I don’t know that well and I really like her! I learned more about my roommates and respect them even more now.

Even though I had a nice night, I am so ready to go home. I’m excited to that my mom decided to have a barbeque and that some of my friends are coming over. Meat and bitches. My two favorite things. Now, lets see if I wake up in time for my flight. This is going to be a struggle.