Training, Tallboys, and Trails

I’m kind of tired. I woke up at 6:45 this morning so that I could get to orientation on time. I was practically falling asleep while I listened to security ladies talk about safety goggles, lean policies, and direct deposit. Biomechanics was also a topic of conversation; it’s haunting my life. Cornell’s ergonomics website even got a shout-out! That shit is cool. One quote that was presented that stuck with me is “It is better to be cautious 100 times than to be dead once.” Very true especially considering I almost burned my office down and cut my arm open last summer, but that’s for a different blog.

One perk of orientation is all the free stuff. I received a folder, notepad, pen, and a few Rochester guides. Oh, and how can I forget the badge/access card?! I actually look good in my picture for once which was a pleasant surprise considering I had to wait four hours to take it. Back to the guides; I’ll be sure to make use of them. Thank you to Kappa Deltas and Cornellians (Jordana, Andrea, and Erika) who have offered to have me over / take me out / have suggested places to visit. I appreciate the hospitality. It really is for life, not four years. =)

Another reason I enjoy the first day of work is because I love meeting new people. There were several tall attractive boys who went through orientation with me. When I met my boss and team, the same was true. I love engineers, but there was only one other female that I met in the general vicinity of my desk…and she isn’t an engineer. Typical. It’s a man’s world. She helped me figure out my email and phone…well it was more like me helping her help me, but that’s besides the point. She was very nice and 100% Italian. We’re going to be friends.

My boss let me leave early because I couldn’t do any of my additional training for the day and he was also leaving early. He’s very sarcastic and has a similar personality to me. I think we’re going to be friends too. Anyway, with my extra daylight hours, I decided to put my Rochester guides to use and visited one of the suggested running/bike paths. It was beautiful. I was greeted by ocean scenes and serene trees. Perfect. I got a little carried away with the selfies, but hey, what am I supposed to do if I’m all alone and extremely happy? I have to capture the moment…over and over again.

That wasn’t enough, so I went to the gym and lifted some light weights when I arrived back at my apartment. As I ate my dinner, I remembered that my pants were a little loose today. Hell yeah. Some of my mother’s parting words were that I looked like the pillsbury dough boy. Not nice, mom. I won’t laugh anymore and then my belly won’t jiggle. Okay? Don’t worry, I’ll be toned and tan when you see me next.

I’m going to attempt to go to bed earlier tonight, but I doubt that will happen. Maybe if I lay down and put a movie on, I’ll fall asleep. That’s what usually happens. Amiright, roommates past and present?